Guide · Ages one to six
Kindergartens and preschools in Belgrade
International and foreign-language kindergartens, and the international schools that take children before school age – on one page, because the question is about your child's age rather than about our categories.
Institutions' own pages read 8 September 2026
There are two different answers to “where does my three-year-old go in Belgrade”, and most families only ever find one of them. Eighteen international, bilingual or foreign-language kindergartens run here as institutions in their own right – and nine of the twenty international schools in this guide already take children below school age, from two and a half at the École française and from one at Brook Hill and IPS. This page is the only place they appear together. Everything below is from each institution's own site, with the date we read it.
All 24, by what they are
| Institution | What it is | Ages | Language | Where | Prices |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BeoPinOKio | Standalone kindergarten | 3-7 | Russian, English, Serbian | Not published | Publishes prices |
| BeSmart | Standalone kindergarten | Not published | Russian, English, Serbian | Vračar | Publishes prices |
| Brook Hill Kindergarten | School kindergarten | 1-5 | English | Dedinje | Does not publish |
| Dečije carstvo | Standalone kindergarten | 1 to school age | English, Serbian | Tašmajdan | Does not publish |
| DSB Kindergarten | School kindergarten | about 3 to 5, then a preschool year at 5 to 6 | German | Not published | Does not publish |
| EFB Maternelle | School kindergarten | 2.5-6 | French, Serbian, English | Not published | Publishes prices |
| Enter | Standalone kindergarten | from 1.5 | Russian | Vračar | – |
| Futurino | Standalone kindergarten | 1-6 | Serbian, English | Savski Venac | Does not publish |
| Guliver | Standalone kindergarten | 8 months to 7 | Serbian, French | Banovo brdo | Does not publish |
| International Preschool | Standalone kindergarten | 3-6 | Not stated | Vračar | Does not publish |
| Kreativno pero | Standalone kindergarten | Not published | Not stated | Not published | Does not publish |
| Little Dreams | Standalone kindergarten | 6 months - 5 years | English, Serbian | Senjak | Does not publish |
| Little Sparrows | Standalone kindergarten | 1-5 | English | Vračar | Publishes prices |
| Maple Bear | Standalone kindergarten | 1 to school age | English, Serbian | Senjak | Publishes prices |
| Skazka | Standalone kindergarten | 1 to school age | English, Russian | Dorćol | Does not publish |
| Smart Školica | Standalone kindergarten | Not published | English, Serbian | Zemun | Does not publish |
| Step by Step | Standalone kindergarten | 1-7 | English, Serbian | Novi Beograd, Banovo brdo | Does not publish |
| Stepping Stone | Standalone kindergarten | 1.5-9 | Russian, English, Serbian | Vračar, Novi Beograd | Publishes prices |
| BIS | School – Infant School | from 3 | English | Voždovac | See the school profile |
| Chartwell | School – Nursery and Early Childhood Centre | from 2 | English | Dedinje, Savski Venac | See the school profile |
| EDUCA | School – Kinders | from 3 | English | Dedinje | See the school profile |
| IPS | School – Nursery | from 1 | English | Dedinje | See the school profile |
| ISB | School – Early Years, from Pre-Kindergarten | from 3 | English | Senjak | See the school profile |
| PRIMA | School – Preschool Department | from 2 | English | Senjak | See the school profile |
The right-hand column says only whether prices are published, not what they are – the same rule the school guide follows. Several of these do publish monthly figures on their own sites.
What is not on this page, and why
Belgrade has hundreds of private kindergartens. This page does not list them, and the line is worth stating plainly: an institution is here if it teaches in a foreign language, follows a foreign programme, or serves a foreign community. A neighbourhood vrtić teaching in Serbian is a good answer for many families and the subject of a different guide from this one.
Two more are deliberately absent. Internacionalni kutak in Zemun appears on directories with no site of its own, so there is no primary source to quote and we do not publish facts taken from a directory. The Maarif kindergartens are named on the Turkish Maarif Foundation's Serbian site, which does not say whether they are its own or affiliated, and without a language, an age range or hours; they are held until that is settled.
What we found across all of them
Three things are true across this set and none of them is on any directory.
- Two state that they hold a licence. BeoPinOKio says so outright and adds that it therefore takes part in the state scheme that compensates parents for kindergarten fees; Maple Bear states a licence from the Ministry of Education. Smart Školica and Guliver say the ministry has verified their work; Guliver also names an NTC licence, which is a licence for a teaching method rather than to operate. Futurino, Skazka and Kreativno pero call themselves accredited without saying by whom. The rest say nothing at all, and we found no readable register to check any of them against – the same wall the school guide hit on accreditation.
- The youngest intake is six months, at Little Dreams Nursery in Senjak. Most start at one or at three.
- Three name a Finnish influence – Futurino follows the Finnish HEI Toolkit curriculum, BeSmart names a Finnish approach, and EDUCA in the school guide teaches Finnish pedagogy. For a market this size that is not a coincidence worth ignoring.
Questions families ask
Which Belgrade kindergartens teach in English?
Of the kindergartens on this page, Dečije carstvo, Little Dreams, Maple Bear, Smart Školica and Step by Step teach in English and Serbian; BeoPinOKio, BeSmart and Stepping Stone teach in Russian, English and Serbian; Brook Hill Kindergarten and Little Sparrows teach in English; Skazka teaches in English and Russian; EFB Maternelle teaches in French, Serbian and English; Futurino teaches in Serbian and English. International Preschool and Kreativno pero do not state a language of instruction.
Can my three-year-old start at an international school rather than a kindergarten?
At several, yes, and it is the answer most families miss. École française takes children from two and a half into maternelle, ISB from three into Pre-Kindergarten, Deutsche Schule from three into Kindergarten, and PRIMA, Brook Hill and IPS lower still. Those are graded stages of a school system rather than childcare.
Are these kindergartens licensed?
Two state that they hold a licence: BeoPinOKio and Maple Bear. Smart Školica and Guliver say the ministry has verified their work, and Futurino, Skazka and Kreativno pero call themselves accredited without naming the accreditor. The others publish nothing about it, and we have not found a public register we can read. Ask, and ask in writing.
What do they cost?
BeoPinOKio, BeSmart, EFB Maternelle, Little Sparrows and Stepping Stone publish prices on their own sites, and Maple Bear on its network's page; Enter gives them on request; the others do not. This guide records which of them publish and does not reproduce the figures.