Guide · After school
French classes for children in Belgrade
Where a child can learn French, and who says what age they take. Everything here is from each provider's own page, with the date we read it. No prices, no timetables.
Updated September 2026 · providers' own pages read 8 September 2026, for the 2026/27 season
Six providers in Belgrade publish, on a page of their own, that they teach French to children. Two of the international schools in this guide also run it themselves — BIS and DSB — which is the half of the picture no activity directory carries.
All six, alphabetically
| Provider | Ages | Where | Language | Their page |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Akademija Oxford | preschool and school age | Vračar, Banovo Brdo, Voždovac, Zvezdara, Novi Beograd | Not stated | www.akademijaoxford.com |
| Centar Molière | Not published | Banovo brdo | All teaching is in French | centremoliere.rs |
| Francuski institut u Srbiji | 6-8, 8-10 and 11-14; separate workshops for 3-4 and 5-6 | Stari grad | Not stated | www.institutfrancais.rs |
| Mayflower | preschool, primary and secondary school | Zvezdara | Not stated | www.mayflower.rs |
| Škola stranih jezika Kontext | 4-12 | Not published | Not stated | www.kontext.edu.rs |
| Škola stranih jezika Smiley | school-age children | Novi Beograd | Not stated | www.skolastranihjezika-smiley.edu.rs |
We do not publish prices, timetables or term dates for any of these, even where the provider publishes them. They change every term, and an out-of-date class time is worse than none at all. Every row links to the provider's own page, which is where the current schedule lives.
Schools in this guide that run it too
| School | What it names | Who can join | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| BIS | French | For its own pupils, as far as the school says | Their page |
| DSB | French | For its own pupils, as far as the school says | Their page |
Taken from each school's own activities page. A school is absent from this table either because it names nothing in this category or because it publishes no list at all — which schools publish one is set out on the index.
What this page does not tell you
Three things, deliberately. What it costs — the same rule the rest of this guide follows, and for the same reason: a price we copied in September is a wrong price by spring. When the classes are — timetables are rebuilt every term. Whether there is a place free — only the provider knows, and only today.
What we can tell you is that the provider exists, that they say they teach children, what ages they say they take, and where. That is the part that stays true long enough to be worth writing down.
Questions families ask
How young can a child start French in Belgrade?
Three, at one provider. The French state institute runs workshops for three- and four-year-olds and again for five- and six-year-olds before its graded courses begin at six; one language school takes children from four. The rest describe their pupils by school stage rather than by year — preschool, primary, secondary — or publish no age at all, so a parent of a five-year-old cannot tell from the site whether there is a group for them.
Will the lesson actually be in French, or in Serbian?
Only one provider on this page says. Centar Molière states that all its teaching is in French. Nobody else states it — including the French state institute — so it is a question to ask rather than something to read.
Is there a French exam a child can take here?
Two providers name one on their children's pages: the French institute prepares its 11-14 group for DELF Junior, and Centar Molière names DELF Prim inside its 8-11 programme. A third names DELF and DALF without saying which is for children.